became King Kamehameha II. In 1839, laws were formed and a Constitutional Monarchy was established by his second son, King Kamehameha III. He officially named certain royal members and princes of the realm to rule if the throne was left vacant. Then in 1875, King Kamehameha V died without naming an heir or successor, which enabled an election of a new king or queen. King Lunalilo was the first to be elected and King Kalakaua was the second. Other royals who were eligible to rule at the time were Princess Emma, Princess Bernice PauahiPrincess Elizabeth Kekaaniau Laanui and Princess Liliu Kamakaeha (Liliuokalani). The Princess Liliu became queen at the death of her brother Kalakaua. Unfortunately, Queen Liliuokalani was forced to abdicate her throne on January 17, 1893 by a forming government. The United States of America's military forces were called to help intimidate the Queen which was not authorized by the U.S. Congress, clearly violating peace treaties between the Hawaiian Kingdom and the United States of America. Several attempts were made to re-establish the monarchy which led to the imprisonment of Queen Liliuokalani in which she was charged for treason.  In 1993, President Clinton of the United States formally apologized for the wrong actions of the United States in their participation in the 1893 overthrow. 

The royal family of Hawai'i survives today from the Kamehameha Dynasty
of the Royal House of Keoua Nui.  The head of the royal house is

     uring the year of 1700 & 1800 A.D., King Kamehameha the Great conquered and unified the Hawaiian Islands creating the Hawaiian Kingdom under his absolute rule. His  throne was left to his  first son, Prince  Liholiho who
HRH Princess Owana Ka'ohelelani La'anui Salazar